Okay, I have to leave for work in a minute, but I'll try to explain what I mean.
The rules are in place in order to avoid a situation like this. There is a clear chronological boundary in place during which all scoring must be made. That is the intent of the rule. A timekeeper is in place in order to let all involved be aware of the timing. His signal identifies the end of the match, so the letter of the rules states that the match ends when the timekeeper calls time. So here we have a conflict of those. The match technically ended after that one second was over, because that was the amount of time dictated by the rules. However, due to a mistake, the match wasn't officially called until much later. The referee only called a point in that time because he was unaware that the match should have been over. And so the letter of the rule, that the match need be officially called, is tainted by the reality that the match was already over at that point.