Sign In

For fans of Conan The Barbarian 1982

Replies
18
Author
Time

I really like the original Conan the barbarian it is one of my favorite films. So what is your plan for this edit?

Author
Time

Thank you for your reply Ronster , it is one of my favorite films as well , it does take inspiration from the stories of Robert E. Howard such as A Witch Shall Be Born which it lifts the crucifixion scene from as well as Tower Of The Elephant in the scene where they infiltrate the tower , However ,in Howard’s Conan ,he is never taken as a slave from his homeland as a child and leaves Cimmeria out of wanderlust and of his own free will. I wanted to make an edit that skews a little closer to Howard’s vision and make it like an old time silent movie and gave it a sepia tone and dust , grain and scratches for an oldworld feel of the hyborian age . For the first seven minutes or so , I merged some of the scenes of Conan as a youth from both the 1982 movie and the 2011 reboot to flesh out the narrative . And I thought Jason Momoa did a good turn as Conan as well ,he just needed a better script and direction , but I am Just partial to the original as I grew up with it and have seen it hundreds of imes . I love it as is , but wanted to share a new take on it .

Author
Time

ok cool I just could not bring myself to watch the remake or reboot I felt the original would just never be beaten.

I bought the region 1 dvd’s of the theatrical and special edition in the UK it is cut for the horse falls. But I am also really interested in the battle of the mounds deleted footage and the snake pit deleted scenes and king Osric’s death.

I would love to be able to do something with it one day. on those 3 points really.

Never read the all the books actually I did read the first book only.

This post has been edited.

Author
Time

ah , that is one in a series of pastiche novels , Robert E. Howard , the creator of Conan only wrote one novel length Conan tale called The Hour Of The Dragon and numerous short stories in the early 1930’s for the pulp magazine Weird Tales . there is a collected edition I encourage you to seek out , the tales are far superior and I am willing to bet will get you hooked http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/33482.The_Coming_of_Conan_the_Cimmerian

Author
Time

Actually , that is Mark Schultz on that edition …very much inspired by Frazetta though .

To the top