logo Sign In

Clue: 30th Anniversary Special Edition (Released)

Author
Time
 (Edited)

Long time reader, first time poster!

I have been dabbling with film restoration and sound mixing for a couple of years now.

I just purchased Diamant Dustbuster + from Germany a few months ago and have been getting into restoring both HD and SD footage from films “off the shelf” to get my feet wet before I buy a film-scanner.

For one of my first projects, I chose one of my all time favorite films to “remaster.”

For this project I took the currently available Blu-ray source and did some additional spec/dust removal and corrected the black level throughout. The major difference on this project here is also the audio. I went back to the original orchestral recordings of John Morris’ score to produce a Surround track for the film which was always mixed in Mono, even though the music had been recorded in three track stereo.

First I made sure to align the stereo music track properly so as not to create an echo when placed against the original audio track, then balanced the volume between them. I used the existing mono mix as the center channel, then I placed the stereo music track and created a light surround ambiance soundtrack with a few atmospheric effects such as wind or rain when called for and mixed these in all 5.1 channels. I also created an extremely light room-authentic reverb that is mixed extremely low but does provide a more natural feel on the vocals.